Emergency InfoClick here for all COVID-19 Information
Share on: 

Select Committee for Sustainability


Sustainable Weston

In 2016, Weston established a Select Committee for Sustainability to increase awareness of our impact on global warming, to encourage the community to establish energy conservation goals, and reduce our consumption of fossil fuels.

The Sustainability Committee also supports Town initiatives to reduce Weston’s energy consumption and carbon dioxide emissions.

In 2017, the committee rebranded as Sustainable Weston.

The town of Weston participates in C-PACE. C-PACE is a program that allows commercial property owners to inexpensively finance renewable energy generation and energy efficiency.  http://www.cpace.com

Committee members

Amy Kalafa


Sonia Skindrud


Marc de Mul


Eric Shrago Treasurer

Kirby Brendsel


Sarah Hutchison


Tom Socha


Tiffany Donovan

Alternate Member

Alissa Stoltz

Alternate Member


Contact the committee through the Selectman's Office Assistant:  Randi Derene (rderene@westonct.gov).


Meeting frequency of the Committee

The SCS meets monthly in the committee room in Town Hall, generally on the 2nd Tuesday of the month.


Current committee initiatives

Fracking waste ordinance

The Town of Weston adopted the ordinance prohibiting fracking waste proposed by Sustainable Weston.  The ordinance text is posted on this website.

We have written a one page fact sheet on the ordinance for your information.

Bring your own bag ordinance

The Town of Weston adopted our Commercial Single Use Plastic Bag ordinance on December 6, 2018.

For this ordinance a one page fact sheet is also available.

Other initiatives

10 ways Weston residents can be more sustainable

Sustainable Living Action Challenge

Virtual net metered solar project

          Certification with Sustainable Connecticut



          Sustainable Weston Facebook Page


Sustainability in neighboring towns

Westport Green Task Force

Wilton Go Green

Easton Energy Task Force


Connecticut State resources

Department of Energy and Environmental Protection


Other sustainability resources

Sustainable CT

Connecticut League of Conservation Voters